0800 SCOUTS   Shop   Members

Youth in Governance Network

    Youth in Governance Network

    Our Youth in Governance Network was formed to provide members aged under 26 with a forum to express their views directly to the Chief Executive. Becoming a member of the Youth in Governance Network gives you the opportunity to build your leadership skills, develop communication techniques, and to work in partnership for the benefit of SCOUTS.

    How is the Youth in Governance Network formed?

    The Youth in Governance Network is made of up ten youth representatives from the National Council, elected by the five Regions in New Zealand. Each Region nominates and elects two people under the age of 26 to sit on both National Council and Youth in Governance Network. A term lasts for two years.

    What is the role of the Youth in Governance Network?

    The National Youth Council serves as a consultation group for the Chief Executive, with members communicating ideas and contributing to new strategies, as well as facilitating SCOUTS New Zealand's annual Youth Forums.

    Current Youth in Governance Network members.

    Upper North Island

    Raani Kelderman
    Ryan Dixon

    Central North Island

    Tom Hutton
    Kate Urquhart
    Hayden Swears

    Lower North Island

    Alister Bellamy

    Upper South Island

    Adam Currie
    Rosie Hampton

    Lower South Island

    Ross Lewis

    Other members

    Chief Executive
    Chair of National Venturer Council
    Chair of National Rover Council