0800 SCOUTS   Shop   Members

National Youth Council

    National Youth Council

    Our National Youth Council was formed to provide members aged under 26 with a forum to express their views directly to the Chief Executive. Becoming a member of the National Youth Council gives you the opportunity to build your leadership skills, develop communication techniques, and to work in partnership for the benefit of SCOUTS.

    How is the National Youth Council formed?

    The National Youth Council is made of up ten youth representatives from the National Council, elected by the five Regions in New Zealand. Each Region nominates and elects two people under the age of 26 to sit on both National Council and National Youth Council. A term lasts for two years.

    What is the role of the National Youth Council?

    The National Youth Council serves as a consultation group for the Chief Executive, with members communicating ideas and contributing to new strategies, as well as facilitating SCOUTS New Zealand's annual Youth Forums.

    Current National Youth Council members.

    Upper North Island

    Ben Sutton (Chair)
    Alistair Kendrick

    Central North Island

    Tom Hutton
    Kate Te Wano

    Lower North Island

    Adam Colman

    Upper South Island

    Natalie Harrison
    Nicole Harliwich

    Lower South Island

    Shanna Verhoef
    Michael Thompson

    Other members

    Chief Executive
    Chair of National Venturer Council
    Chair of National Rover Council