0800 SCOUTS   Shop   Members

Local Structure

SCOUTS New Zealand - Local Structure

Scout Groups

The basic unit of organisation is the Scout Group.  This is based in a local community and usually consists of Keas, Cubs, Scouts, Venturers and Rovers.  Within a Scout Group, there will be a number of adult leaders, who give their time voluntarily to help the development of young people. The Group is led by the Group Leader, whose job is to co-ordinate the Group’s activities and to ensure continuity and development.  To find a contact for a particular Scout Group, refer to our Scout Group Directory website.

Scout Zones

A number of Groups in a certain locality constitute a Scout Zone. A number of Zones make up a Region (there are five Regions as noted above).  We currently have a total of 32 Zones in New Zealand, and these are clearly marked in the map below.


The Zone is led by the Zone Leader who is supported by a Zone team. These volunteers provide guidance and support to Scout Groups and their sections.  Zones are supported by the Regional Service Centres through the guidance of the Regional Development Manager.

All Scout groups are governed by the Policy, Organisation and Rules of The Scout Association of New Zealand, which provides the framework in which all Scout groups operate.

Scout Regions

SCOUTS New Zealand has five regions - Upper North Island, Central North Island, Lower North Island, Upper South Island and Lower South Island.  These are highlighted in the multi coloured map shown above.

Contact Information

To find a contact for a Scout Group near you, refer to our Scout Group Directory website.

For contact information for our National SCOUT Service Centre in Wellington, or one of our five Regional Offices, please go to our Contact Us page or call 0800 SCOUTS to go through to the region nearest you.