Login    |     Register


 National Youth Council members

National Youth Council

Our National Youth Council was formed to provide members aged under 26 with a forum to express their views directly to the Chief Executive. Becoming a member of the National Youth Council gives you the opportunity to build your leadership skills, develop communication techniques, and to work in partnership for the benefit of SCOUTS.

How is the National Youth Council formed?

The National Youth Council is made of up ten youth representatives from the National Council, elected by the five Regions in New Zealand. Each Region nominates and elects two people under the age of 26 to sit on both National Council and National Youth Council. A term lasts for two years.

What is the role of the National Youth Council?

The National Youth Council serves as a consultation group for the Chief Executive, with members communicating ideas and contributing to new strategies, as well as facilitating SCOUTS New Zealand's annual Youth Forums.

Current National Youth Council members.

Upper North Island

Ben Sutton
Renee Napier

Central North Island

Timothy Norman
Hayley Thompson

Lower North Island

Brianna Leahy
Ross Jordan

Upper South Island

Cameron Harding
Nic Clemett

Lower South Island

Vincent Rijlaarsdam 
Michael Thompson

Other members

Chief Executive Officer

Chair of National Venturer Council

Chair of National Rover Council